Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

image

Genres: Young Adult, Romance
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: September 10th, 2013

4 OUT OF 5 STARS

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”

Simon Snow is the biggest thing in Cath’s life, for over a year she’s been working on a fanfiction read by tens of thousands of people. Her sister is her biggest fan, or at least she used to be. College classes, family feuds and brand new boys all start to expand Cath’s view from the World of Mages to the real world away from her computer screen.

What I believe more than anything is that people love to read about themselves. Cath is a lot of us. She’s an avid reader, a writer, a fan and that makes her incredibly easy to identify with. I was rooting for Cath the whole way because in so many ways she was me. More in love with fictional than real.

I hate romance novels. I did not expect to enjoy this novel as much as I did. From Wren’s very different struggle, to Levi’s charm, Art letting go of his girls and trying to stay sane, every character feels very well fleshed with their own struggles and pains. The romance, while being the driving point, didn’t feel like it absorbed Cath’s life entirely.

It’s a book about growing, expanding but not about growing out of. When I started the novel I was very afraid that that was what it would be. Instead Fangirl shows Cath expanding her world all while keeping the things she loves dearly.

Brilliantly weaving Cath’s story with pieces of her own fanfiction and the actual plot of Simon Snow I feel like I’ve read more than one story, and I can guarantee that whenCarry On, Simon is published in it’s own right I will be the very first in line for a copy.

My only complaint is that it only covered a year, I would read about Cath’s life from infancy to old age if Rainbow Rowell would let me.

BUY THE BOOK

READ THIS IF YOU’RE A FAN OF: GEEKTASTIC

One thought on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Sounds so lovely and a delightful coming of age tale! I need to pick this one up before Carry On arrives in stores!

    Like

Share your thoughts

