milkhoney.jpg

Genres: Poetry
Publisher: Createspace
Publication Date: November 4th 2014

2 OUT OF 5 STARS

“The thing about writing is I can’t tell if it’s healing or destroying.”

Kaur’s poetry is immensely personal and powerful – but I just didn’t connect with it the way I’d hoped to. A modern poetry collection that focuses on abuse, love, loss and feminism it’s easy to see why milk and honey rose to popularity so quickly, but it’s simply not for everyone.

Ultimately I cannot truly judge something that is so personal to Kaur. Her emotions and past are laid bare on these pages but I see so little of myself here that I could not feel anything for most of the poems. I do love poetry and I have fell deeply in love with books of a similar style – just not this one.

I also felt a few of the themes were a bit repetitive. There were several poems about women having body hair, and though I am a strong supporter of hairy legs I don’t know if I am three plus poems emotional about it.

Kaur’s drawings are unique and interesting, some of the poems did connect with me but ultimately I didn’t really care for the collection. It felt like there was too little story and too much self-praise. The poems themselves aren’t particularly exceptional and there were several that were just large text blocks that hurt to read.

All in all many of the poems read like very pretty quotes to reblog or pin or place on a wall but don’t quite turn into nice poems.

I desperately searched for love in these pages, and came out empty handed and broken hearted.

For Fans Of: the princess saves herself in this one

Share your thoughts

